This Week with David Rovics
This Week with David Rovics
New song: "Shadowbanned on Bandcamp"
3
0:00
-1:51

New song: "Shadowbanned on Bandcamp"

A short song to explain what a shadowban is, at least in my case on Bandcamp.
3

I am shadowbanned on Bandcamp, and there is complete silence from them as to why.  People have trouble understanding what a shadowban is in this case, or why it matters.  So here I try to explain all this in a song, in under 2 minutes.

Alphabet is one of the world's biggest corporations.  But most people don't seem to have any idea just how vital search engines are to the economy, and to their lives.  I can tell you though that when you can't be found on one, they matter, a lot.  

That's how it is for me, my music, and this important platform for independent music.  You can find my Bandcamp page through Google just fine, yes.  But not by using the search function on Bandcamp itself.  I'm invisible there, just like Neil Young on Spotify, if you search for him on that platform.

Find out more at davidrovics.com/bandcamp.  Which is not my Bandcamp page.  That's a page about Bandcamp's shadowban that I have on my website.  If you want to find me on Bandcamp, use Google...  But first try to find me directly on Bandcamp itself, and see for yourself what happens!

3 Comments
This Week with David Rovics
This Week with David Rovics
If I do an interview, whether as the interviewer or interviewee, or a livestream event, new song, audio essay or various other things, it’ll often go out as a podcast here.