This Week with David Rovics
This Week with David Rovics
New song: "I Heard A Rumor"
1
0:00
-2:16

New song: "I Heard A Rumor"

Being part of the online left today often involves living life in fear of committing a transgression and being targeted for cancellation.
1

For untold numbers of people, the reality of living online via corporate anti-social media platforms means a life lived in fear of committing a transgression and being targeted for cancellation by dedicated armies of trolls. This I already know. Whether any of you out there who already know this also think this song captures the feeling well is another matter, but it's an effort at that.


Update on tours and canceled life

It’s true enough that my trolls will keep trying to get all my gigs canceled. They’ll keep contacting gig organizers, venues, people I’m sharing a bill with, and others, to let them know I’m a Nazi (which I’m still not). Most recently, this very morning I should have been on local community radio station, KBOO, but my troll-in-chief contacted station management, told them he felt unsafe if they let me in the building, and out of fear of a lawsuit, it seems, management canceled my appearance on a show.

For much more info on what happened, yesterday I wrote a post:

Cancellation Campaigner Gets Cancel Culture Discussion on KBOO Cancelled

More on all that in future missives. But for the moment — if you know anyone in the Pacific Northwest, please tell them about my gigs next week in the Seattle area, in Bellingham and Centralia, Washington, and Vancouver, BC!

For folks in Scandinavia, lots of gigs are coming together throughout Denmark and Sweden for the first half of November. There’s still a little room for more, if anyone over there might be inclined to organize something!

If you’re in France, Germany, or some bordering countries to those two, I’d love to hear from you about potential gigs in February 2024. If you’re in the UK, I’ll be back in the summer of 2024.

1 Comment
This Week with David Rovics
This Week with David Rovics
If I do an interview, whether as the interviewer or interviewee, or a livestream event, new song, audio essay or various other things, it’ll often go out as a podcast here.