This Week with David Rovics
This Week with David Rovics
New song: "Supply and Demand (Song for the Highland Clearances)"
0:00
-3:33

New song: "Supply and Demand (Song for the Highland Clearances)"

The Scottish Highlands were cleared through methods identical to those that are transforming the US today, brought to you by the same sorts of investor-landlords and the same sort of captured state.

I've been to the beautiful Scottish Highlands, read about the Highland Clearances, and have long thought about writing a song on the subject. But last week, talking with a California-based poet, organizer, and descendant of one of those who lost their land in this process, Susan Collier Lamont (who also hosted a wonderful backyard concert on the little tour I just did), what the song needed to say became clearer to me. The comparisons Susan was making were also amplified by what so many commentators, podcasters, historians, and other folks in Scotland seem to be making these days, according to my recent investigations.


Upcoming tour plans…

My family and I had a lovely time in northern California, we just got back last night. My next trip will the the late September in the midwestern US. Graphic above, info about all the gigs will be up on my website soon…

I still have plenty of free dates for more gigs in Denmark, Sweden, Norway, and the Netherlands in November. If you’re from one of those countries and might like to organize a gig, I’d love to hear from you!

Same goes for France, Germany, Switzerland, or Belgium for the month of February, 2024.

0 Comments
This Week with David Rovics
This Week with David Rovics
If I do an interview, whether as the interviewer or interviewee, or a livestream event, new song, audio essay or various other things, it’ll often go out as a podcast here.