This Week with David Rovics
This Week with David Rovics
New song: "Ram Mohamed Singh Azad"
0:00
-3:27

New song: "Ram Mohamed Singh Azad"

Ram Mohamed Singh Azad was hanged at Pentonville Prison in London, England on July 31st, 1940.

There are community centers named after the man, who is most commonly known as Shaheed (martyr) Udam Singh, but during his final month of life he used the name that was tattooed on his arm, Ram Mohamed Singh Azad. I first heard about him on one of my more recent visits to England, and came up with this song over the past few days, randomly.

This is just a cell phone recording, as I’m on the road without my home recording setup. Here’s the YouTube video, with lyrics.


AUSTRALIA: the tour here is going really well, great crowds everywhere we’ve been so far. Lots more gigs to come, including one just added in Lismore. Here’s the updated tour graphic. Details on each gig at davidrovics.com/tour.


EVERYWHERE ELSE: I still have dates free in late April and early May for gigs anywhere within 100 miles of Washington, DC, if someone out there might be inclined to organize something. In late May I have a couple of dates left for another gig in Denmark, and throughout June I have various dates free for more gigs in England or Wales.

0 Comments
This Week with David Rovics
This Week with David Rovics
If I do an interview, whether as the interviewer or interviewee, or a livestream event, new song, audio essay or various other things, it’ll often go out as a podcast here.